Joy Radio

 ©Joy Radio 2016 - 2019

Joy Radio About Us Gallery Schedule Presenters

Joy  Radio has made a return to the airwaves broadcasting via the net 24/7 playing Jazz, Funk and Soul.

Some of the original  presenters are back including Micky T, Noel Hand BW  

Joy Radio began broadcasting at weekends in 1986 on 97.85 FM following the closure of Horizon and Solar in 1985. Using a low power transmitter on one of the best sites in SE London it soon started to attract listeners who wanted to listen to soul music and a touch of reggae. Early presenters included DJ Dex, Micky T, The Judge, DJ Bosk, Steve Dervin, DJ Fresh, Mike Howard, Mr Vee, Big BW

In 1988  the line up of presenters included Noel H,DJ Mellow, Osi Os, DJ Submariner as well as Micky T, DJ Dex, BW and Mr Vee . Still broadcasting at weekends there were odd gaps in transmissions due to changes in studios with the odd transmitter raids.

In 1989 Joy Radio went from strength to strength. From a studio close to Crystal Palace it was broadcasting every weekend from September through to the beginning of December without a single raid, a total of 12 weeks.

The presenters included Micky T, Noel H, Steve Collins, Ray Bradshaw, Clive Brady, Mike Howard, Terry James, Nicky Lawerence, Dave Black, DJ Rickster, Ossi Os, Big BW, Ray and Paul, DJ Spencer, Ian Eastwood, DJ Rossi

Joy Radio Studio 1989 in Crystal Palace with a young Steve Collins

Joy Radio today

Joy Radio History

Early Joy radio T shirts 1988

DJ Rickster Joy Radio 1989